Tales From Earthsea

Tales From Earthsea

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Tales from Earthsea contains an introduction, two novellas, three short stories and an extensive afterword describing the history of Earthsea. The stories proceed chronologically, beginning with the longest tale, "The Finder," an account of the Dark Ages of Earthsea and of the founding of the school for wizards. It closes with another long story, "Dragonfly," in which the eponymous young heroine challenges the long-established rule which forbids women from receiving formal training in the magical arts.
Publisher: New York : Harcourt, c2001
Edition: 1st ed
Branch Call Number: FICTION LEG
Characteristics: xv, 296 p. ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
JCLAmyF Aug 19, 2015

I read this before I read the Earthsea saga, and the short stories made a nice welcome into the world. Now I've read the Earthsea books (there's five of them), and I just went back and read this again. Le Guin is an award winning fantasy/sci-fi author and my favorite thing about her is that the most important thing is the characters. The lovely world she has built around her characters (i.e., the fantastical element) is really just a supporting element that allows her to explore the societal and emotional lives of her character's paths.

MeganLibrarian Oct 27, 2014

LeGuin's writing is so lyrical. This book is so awesome!

Jan 25, 2013

A wonderful collection of stories that fill in some of the alluded history in the series. A truly magical book.

MinniGappieo Jul 03, 2012

A must read for an fan of the Earthsea series, and works as a bridge between the 4th and 5th books. The base background information is given in the foreword, and my favorite story would have to be the one about Irian, which leads into the sixth (and final?) book. Actually, I am not really sure which book should be the end since the series was supposed to end after the fourth book. Nonetheless I still enjoyed this series and recommend it to any fantasy fan.

Apr 12, 2011

This is a collection of short stories about the Earthsea world and is not apart of the story:but it is ment to be read fith.

Mar 20, 2011

This isn't counted as the fifth book of Earthsea, I suppose because it's short stories rather than a novel, but if you're reading in order this comes after Tehanu and before The Other Wind.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Orange_Horse_142003 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at HPL

To Top