Red Mars

Red Mars

Book - 1993
Average Rating:
Rate this:
18
1
Mars. The red planet. Closest to Earth in our solar system, surely life must exist on it? We dreamt about the builders of the canals we could see by telescope, about ruined cities, lost Martian civilizations, the possibilities of alien contact. Then the Viking and Mariner probes went up, and sent back nothing. Mars was a barren planet; lifeless, sterile, uninhabited. In 2019 the first man set foot on the surface of Mars; John Boone, American hero. In 2027 one hundred of the Earth's finest engineers and scientists made the first mass-landing. Their mission? To create a New World, To terraform a planet with no atmosphere, an intensly cold climate and no magnetosphere into an Eden full of people, plants and animals. It is the greatest challenge mankind has ever faced; the ultimate use of intelligence and ability; our finest dream.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 1993
Branch Call Number: FICTION ROB
Characteristics: 519 p. : map ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
DLarryK
May 20, 2019

1st in the Mars Series
2 - Green Mars
3 - Blue Mars

c
ChrisMcMil
May 20, 2019

This is a very substantial, well-paced and highly engaging book with plenty of thought-provoking content. The detail is remarkable, both with the character development and the depiction of the near(ish) future setting on Mars (I found www.google.com/mars/ to be most helpful in following the action). Robinson has done a truly admirable job of keeping the science credible, especially considering that he doesn’t have a science background himself. The subject matter is also very relevant today, with serious questions being asked about where the world is going with technology, with politics and with corporate vs national power. I seriously hope that we can avoid some of the problems that Robinson is warning us about in this book. This is the best kind of Science Fiction and I look forward to reading the next two installments.

7
7626dee
Mar 23, 2019

I can see why it is popular and I also understand why some hate it. It is overlong due to the lengthy look inside the minds of several of the players in our drama. What really caught my eye was the great difference in how authors approach Mars. The Martian version is quite different than the Red Mars version. Scientifically both authors are pretty loose with plausibility in the planetary makeup and the actual mechanics of life on a very dangerous place. I truly hope we never get there as I am positive we will screw it up badly in some form-look at our poor Earth! Unusual novel as two major characters are simply eradicated without much reason.

s
sat7
Dec 01, 2018

Great read -

s
sarahcharlotte999
Jan 12, 2018

Enjoyed these books immensely back when I was a 15-year-old commie. Loved how readers can inhabit the characters' debates and inner lives. I always sympathized with practical peacemaker Nadia. But, I most admired hard-core conservationist Ann Clayborne.
 
Good ol' stubborn Ann. She gets some indelible (if not entirely elegant) love scenes. With whom? That's the best part! You'll just have to read to find out.

b
bwrogers
Jul 04, 2017

What more can be said about this book than already has been? Calling the story "epic" in scope doesn't do the book justice. From the moment a small number of people leave their homes to prepare to colonize Mars, through their stories and the stories of those who follow them up the gravity well, the novel describes the planet as if the reader truly were there. Tremendous, sometimes overly-technical description of the planet sets the stage for a new experiment in human society. Science, love, politics and, above all, Robinson's clear belief that humanity is capable of so much more than it's present state give the book a luminous glow.

ChristchurchLib Apr 05, 2016

A hundred settlers from a desperately overpopulated Earth are sent to make Mars' barren, freezing wastes habitable. Individuals with unique skills struggle to help ensure humanity's survival on Mars -- but as more and more settlers arrive from Earth, personal and political tensions threaten to make life impossible on either planet. Red Mars is 1st in the author's iconic Mars trilogy (continued in Blue Mars and Green Mars), in which human conflicts play out against a vividly drawn Martian landscape.

p
pabody
Oct 05, 2015

I have been a sci-fi devotee for 30 years, and can honestly say this novel ranks among the great of the genre. I still haven't changed my mind, though I've read hundreds of books since I first dived in to Red Mars 15 years ago. The previous comment remarks "I don't really want my science fiction realistic and scientific." I will overlook the obvious contradiction in terms of the latter point and address the former: If it's not at least partly believable, i.e. "realistic", then it ain't sci-fi; it's fantasy. The characters of the First Hundred are achingly human and the final scene never fails to bring me close to tears.

l
lukasevansherman
Sep 04, 2015

Some sci-fi fans distinguish between "hard" and "soft" sci-fi and if someone is telling you this, odds are they are firmly in the former camp. Kim Stanley Robinson's "Red Mars," the first of his Mars trilogy, is hard sci-fi. It's not for the casual fan and it's unlikely to be made into a movie anytime soon. Robinson has a background and degrees in English lit., so his books are very well written, but not necessarily that engaging. I don't really want my sci-fi ultra realistic and scientific, so I found this book, which imagines the colonization of Mars, a bit dry and long-winded. It will appeal to fans of Clarke and Asimov. It won the Nebula Award. Followed by "Green Mars."

k
katrinalp01
Aug 25, 2015

If you want to know minutia about Mars and its topography, read it and skip the parts about the people on Mars. If you are a social work/psychology major, if you want to learn about group dynamics, have at it. This book so so boring it is unbelievable. I skipped page after page and still knew what was going on. I couldn't even suspend my disbelief. I got to the middle of the book and read the last chapter. I read enough. I tried so hard as I don't give up on books but this is a stinker.

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary
d
dzacher
Jul 21, 2017

In 2026, the largest spacecraft ever built transports the first colonists to Mars, beginning a multi generational saga of man’s transformation of the red planet. A Nebula Award winner hailed as “staggering… the best novel on the colonization of Mars that has ever been written” (Arthur C. Clarke).

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top